NY Defensive Driving Requirements
Are you ready to complete a New York State defensive driving course? Before you do, you’ll want to be sure that you meet all of the NY defensive driving requirements. When you complete our course, the state will grant you a 4 point driving record reduction and an auto insurance reduction of up to 10%. To receive these great benefits, the DMV requires that you have a valid driver’s license and follow the specified time frames:
- For Point Reduction: the course can be taken once every 18 months.
- For an Insurance Discount: the course can be taken once every 3 years.
If you meet the defensive driving requirements, congratulations! You can complete our Easy online course and in just a few hours you’ll qualify for a cleaner driving record and an auto insurance discount! If you take our New York State defensive driving course when you are ineligible, you will not receive a point reduction or an insurance discount. If you are unsure about whether or not you meet the NY defensive driving requirements, please contact us at any time and we can help determine your eligibility.
*In some cases a New York traffic court will allow a driver to take our course to dismiss a traffic ticket, reduce a traffic ticket fine or on a court ordered basis. In this case, please confirm eligibility with the traffic court handling your violation directly.
If you have confirmed your eligibility and are ready to start our course, NY drivers can Register Here.